Special area of conservation

About this dataset

Total 256
Special areas of conservation
Data providers 1
Collector last ran on 2024-06-15
New data last found on 2023-07-29

Licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0.


© Natural England copyright. Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright and database right 2024.


Special areas of conservation (SACs) are area of land which have been designated by DEFRA, with advice from the Joint Nature Conservation Committee, to protect specific habitats and species.

DEFRA and Natural England publish guidance on how to review planning applications in protected sites and areas.

Help improve this data

Give feedback on this dataset, or email your questions and corrections to