Protected wreck site

About this dataset

Total 54
Protected wreck sites
Data providers 1
Collector last ran on 2024-05-28
New data last found on 2022-06-14

Licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0.


© Historic England 2024. Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright and database right 2024. The Historic England GIS Data contained in this material was obtained on [date]. The most publicly available up to date Historic England GIS Data can be obtained from


Protected wrecks are records of wreck sites, documented losses and seabed archaeological features.  They can be protected by designation under the Protection of Wrecks Act 1973, the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Areas Act 1979 and the Protection of Military Remains Act 1986.

The Protection of Wrecks Act 1973 allows the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport to designate a restricted area around the site of a vessel lying on or in the seabed in UK territorial waters. They do so with advice from Historic England.

Where a protected wreck site is within local authority boundaries then it will be considered a designated heritage asset for the purpose of the NPPF and offered the same level of protection in planning decisions as is afforded to scheduled monuments and highly graded listed buildings.

Help improve this data

Give feedback on this dataset, or email your questions and corrections to